ShelterCare Pet Insurance

Reviewers
Male / Female
Recommend
Yes / No
Number of Reviews Coverage Claims Customer Service Cost Total Average Rating
16 / 34 5 / 45 50 1.94 1.98 2.07 2.65 2.16

Date Submitted: December 7, 2013
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 6 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: 24PETWATCH same as ShelterCare -- BEWARE
Addition to Review on ShelterCare -- They also are now going by 24PetWatch. Same name, same bad service.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Kathryn Daily & Ferlinghetti
57 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Lawrence, KS

Date Submitted: September 27, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 8 out of 10
Claims: 10 out of 10
Customer Service: 5 out of 10
Cost: 10 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: great insurance
I recently adopted a kitten and received Shelter Care insurance for a 30 day free trail. Sadly, my new kitten got sick ang had to go to the vet twice (which was $400). I submitted all paperwork asked for and the claim was paid in the timeframe indicated on the claim paperwork. Very happy with Shelter Care! Only negative is that when you call you can hold for a very long time.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Jennifer
39 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Austin, TX

Date Submitted: September 6, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 2 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Scam Please walk away!!!!! Its a JOKE
Sheltercare insurance is a scam...please walk away....we adopted a dog from Wayne County Animal Rescue and she was fine until 2 days later. We got the gift insurance with a extra 15 days. Roxie was seen 2 days later for wellness and had No parasites found. 2 days later she started haivng diarrhea and got worms. she was treated. after that she got kennel cough, pneumonia, a bad intestinal infection and other parasites somehow but our other animal were fine. we put a claim through. After that we upgraded our policy and then she kept getting pneumonia and infections and started having seizures and then diagnosed with distemper. She was so bad off we had to put her to sleep 1 1/2 months after getting her. $600.00 plus later we had 2 claims. we just recieved letters stating everything was denied and she had pre-existing conditions and that none of this was covered. Which is bull@#^&! Now we are going to the better business beaureu n investigating them....Dont let this happen to you
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Fredda
30 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Tarboro

Date Submitted: August 23, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 3 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Scam insurance
They tried everything they could to avoid paying out on any claim. I submitted over $300 in claims to them and I got $9. What a hoax. So glad i dropped them and went to VPI. Shelter Care is a scam.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Matt Wolfsmith
37 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Bolingbrook, IL

Date Submitted: August 22, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: What a scam!!
Worst pet insurance company ever. We recently adopted a puppy from the Fort Worth Animal Shelter, and within 3 weeks of adoption, the puppy passed away due to distemper. The vet believes the dog contracted the virus while in the shelter regardless of the vaccine that was provided. It was the most horrible thing to watch! We racked up over $1,000 dollars in cost of treatment only to have to put the dog to sleep once he reached the neurological stage. ShelterCare took 5 weeks to respond and never were any help on the phone. The denied the case, calling it a pre-exsting case. Neither the shelter or my family were aware prior to the adoption. I will be reaching out to the city of Fort Worth in regards, and plead them to re-evaluate their gift of insurance if everything is counted as pre-existing for shelter dogs.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Stephen Gibbs
26 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Fort Worth

Date Submitted: August 19, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: worse customer service & insurance
A waste of time and money. If you get this insurance, plan on waiting at least 20 minutes on the phone if you have any questions about a claim. It took an entire month for them to reject my claim even though the web pages states that it will only take 5-10 business days.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Trixie
34 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Minneapolis

Date Submitted: July 23, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Class action lawsuit
They are criminals. They will not refund my money that is due me. They will not cancel my credit card or answer their phones. THEY NEED TO BE ARRESTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: MONICA DELANOY
55 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   San Antonio, TX

Date Submitted: July 14, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 5 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Worst gift coverage
We adopted a kitten from the humane society where we live and before being able to take it home, due to having to be altered first, we noticed she had dirty ears. Brought to the attention of the manger of the shelter I was told she would be assessed during her spay. Turns out the manager lied and because it was considered a per-existing condition (because we noticed it before our policy was even active) this gift policy from Shelter Care will not cover what it says it does. I was put on hold for six minutes before being told this by a Shelter Care representative. What a joke...wonder what else they would deny. I chose to cancel the extended policy out due to their mishandling of a claim already....YOU ARE JOKE!!!
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: KRR
31 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Evans

Date Submitted: July 9, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 5 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Absolute Worst Insurance
I have been a member for over a year with this company. When I went to ask a question or get help...I was left on hold for at least 15 minutes, then called back another number, Same problem, no response. They have several numbers to their call center. I am sending a certified letter to let them know I am canceling.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Angry Pet Owner
59 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   North Carolina

Date Submitted: May 22, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Worst Pet Insurance Company
When you call to file a claim, you have to wait 25 minutes for someone to pick up. But, when you want to buy insurance, they will pick up the phone immediately. I hate this insurance company, they have horrible customer service. I doubt I will get a single penny for my claim.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Frustrated Cat Owner
28 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Chicago

Date Submitted: April 7, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 9 out of 10
Claims: 9 out of 10
Customer Service: 10 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Shelter Care
We took the upgraded policy (which I think cost $11/mth) and the day it became effective was, coincidently our puppy was diagnosed with pneumonia. The company paid us $1200 for the cost of the care, their customer support was very helpful and friendly. So we were very happy with them.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Steve
61 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   east brunswick, NJ

Date Submitted: March 21, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Free insurance
I received this insurance for one free month when I adopted my dog from a rescue. I received an email stating that I must click on the link to claim my insurance within 72 hours. I recieved the email at 1:07 pm and literally clicked the link at 1:35 pm and it had expired. I called customer service and sent emails but they all told me it had expired and that I had to pay. Such crap! I believe all these bad reviews and was so unhappy with their service! Do not use shelter care!
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Nicole
29 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Racine, Wisconsin

Date Submitted: January 23, 2012
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Complete Scam
Do not trust this company .If you adopted a pet and they offer you a pet insurance,it sounds grate,but after you bay it everything goes wrong,do not expect any money from them.Complete scam.I just cancel it.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Jenny
49 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Largo

Date Submitted: October 18, 2011
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 5 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Gift of insurance is a joke
Took them up on the "Gift of Insurance". What a scam! Was supposed to cover shelter related illnesses but when I filed a claim they rejected everything for "prior condition". I had even upgraded to a pay policy with them. I then tried to get my money back and was told no.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Tony
38 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   nampa, Idaho

Date Submitted: September 6, 2011
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 7 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: RIP OFF - NO orTerrible Customer Service
We have spent 4 months - trying to get reimbursed for a claim! After being in the health care business & running companies for many years - DO NOT BUY this insurance. Its a total RIP_OFF!

Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Dog lover
58 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Greenville, SC

Date Submitted: August 31, 2011
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Stay away
I got a dog at a shelter and I was told that I would received an email from this company to enroll. I never received the enrollment email, but they did send ADs, and other junk email. Of course when I finally was able to get in touch with them the 72 hours had expired.
It seems to me to be a shady company!!!!
Comments [ 2 ]
Submitted by: Frank from MKE
47 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Milwaukee

Date Submitted: July 20, 2011
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Sheltercare SUCKS!!!
I never received an email to enroll so I called about my coverage. After 2 weeks they never even called me back.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Howard
53 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   san francisco

Date Submitted: July 13, 2011
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 5 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Terrible Terrible Terrible
We adopted a dog who within the first week of having him, suffered from pneumonia and had to be hospitalized. He has since been back to the vet 2 times (worms, other antibiotics were not working). I have mailed, faxed, called about, and emailed claims, none of which they will respond to. I sat on hold before even talking to someone for 20 minutes. Then, I ask my boyfriend to call, and he gets through after waiting 30 minutes, and they tell him they have no record of my claim on file, and to fax it. He verified the fax number, and the address, to which they said it was correct. Do not go with this company. Terrible terrible terrible!
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Rachel
25 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Chicago

Date Submitted: June 27, 2011
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 3 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 2 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Customer Service
I recently adopted a pet cat from the shelter. They did tell me about the free gift insurance for 30 days, and that the company ShelterCare would likely promote upgrades and extended coverage etc. I called to activate the policy and the guy on the phone was extremely rude! I would not recommend this coverage to anyone based off of his poor customer service. Simply because I opted out of an upgrade with this company, he was extremely rude, and guilting tactics are not effective when your mind is decided. Please, it may be acceptable as free gift insurance but anything else gets the wrap!
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Jen
23 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Columbia, SC

Date Submitted: April 14, 2011
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: another dis-satisfied customer --ripped off
We adopted an older scotty from Last Chance Ranch. We were given a "free policy" We opted to add coverage to cover our animal past the trial period. Worst mistake I ever made. The dog was diagnosed with cushings disease a couple of weeks after we adopted the dog. We filed the claim. Now we are told that the Chushings is not a covered illness. There were other issues with the animal our vet diagnosed. Shelter Care refused to pay any of the claims because as far as they were concerned, when we adopted the dog, these were all pre-existing conditions. So far, I have spent nearly $1500 in treatment of this animal and not one dime will be reimbursed.
We then attempted to cancel the "chip policy" and were told we could not cancel it until it expires next year. It has only been issued one month ago, why can't we cancel it and get our money back.
This company is nothing more than a scam to take in money and not pay out one dime.
Maybe we all should get together and file a class action suit against them?

Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Don Magaw
66 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Neptune, NJ

Date Submitted: March 25, 2011
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 7 out of 10
Claims: 9 out of 10
Customer Service: 10 out of 10
Cost: 7 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: You get what you pay for
I adopted 2 Mini Schnauzers in Aug. 2010. At that time I purchased their basic plan (one that is not listed on their website) for a cost of $42 per month to cover both dogs. I didn't realize at the time that once you make a claim in any of the covered categories that that payment, no matter how small the claim ends up being you are not able to make any future claims against that category. Not a good thing since dogs often get recurring issues. They did pay the claim just as it was spelled out in the documents I received. I have since upgraded to their best policy ($100 a month for both dogs) which does allow for repeated claims up to $5000 in each category. But once you have used up that categories' limit that's it if the pet has anymore issues in the same category. We will see what happens with the current claim I have submitted for the female dog’s urinary track infection. When I upgraded they did warn me that they may consider it a pre-existing condition and disallow any further claims against the Urinal System Category, we will see.

Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Bill K.
53 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Hawthorne

Date Submitted: March 21, 2011
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 4 out of 10
Cost: 4 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: ShelterCare must have lawsuits filed against it
I would be surprised if ShelterCare didn't have lawsuits filed against it. This is my first time dealing with this awful company, and 1) I am SO GLAD I didn't purchase their insurance after the 30day shelter gift, and 2) I am beyond frustrated and dismayed with their total dishonesty. Bad news all around.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Dani
34 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Chicago

Date Submitted: March 19, 2011
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 7 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 2 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: ShelterCare Is Deceptive
I adopted a shelter dog who became ill.
The downward spiral led to hospitalization and 1,000 vet fees. ShelterCare denied coverage saying there was noted pre-existing conditons by the vet. The vet didn't see the dog until Jan. 27!The coverage began Jan.26. I took the dog to the vet Jan.27 & apparently my saying he had begun coughing was written down & THIS is a pre-existing conditon?. ShelterCare said it was. You can cough and sneeze and not be sick. You don't go to the vet unless the animal is SICK.And the vet determines this.
Otherwise ALL animals have pre-existing conditons. This insurance is deceptive and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Lucy J.
70 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Ft. Worth, Texas

Date Submitted: October 8, 2010
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Are You Kidding Me ???
They give you 7 days after adoption to respond to their "email" about the gift policy and I called ShelterCare at day 5 to tell them I hadn't received my email about accepting the 30 day "gift" policy (or extending to 45 days). Their representative said she could confirm and add the extension to 45 days over the phone for me. So she gave me a Policy ID # which I wrote down. After a claim was submitted within 30 days of adoption, I received a letter saying I never accepted the 30 day gift policy so the claim was denied. When I called they said they had no record of my acceptance and that it has to be done by email. Even giving them the Policy # their representative gave me didn't help - they said their policy numbers don't start with those digits. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? Did I make up a policy number? What a joke ... Of course our adopted kitten ended up with two different parasites within 25 days of adoption so I'm just out $170 (so far). Never will buy a policy from ShelterCare!!
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Carol
50 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Indianapolis

Date Submitted: May 4, 2010
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Why spend the money buying insurance....
We adopted a German Sheppard from a shelter and received their ShelterCare gift policy. Within the first week our new 1.25 year old dog developed diarrhea. We had to take her to a vet and they had to run some fecal tests to find she had a bacterial overgrowth. The bill was $210 paid out of pocket. Submitted a claim and about a month later still had not heard anything. Called in and they said they mailed the response, but it was not covered under the conditions of the “GIFT” policy. So I ate the 210 on the vet bill and upgraded the coverage.

Here is where is gets really funny. We struggled for about a month with her eating, trying different foods, doing anything we could to get her to eat, but she was losing weight to fast and as down to 48 lbs….which is small for a dog her size and her diarrhea was back. So again we went to the vet and they had to run blood test, one checking for a special disorder common in German Sheppard’s. She was diagnosed with EPI. After everything with the vets, tests, and medications, the bill was around 680 dollars. One week later she was in better health, but developed a bladder infection. Again it was to the vet and another 370 dollars in vet bills. Sent both claims to ShelterCare on the same day and waited over a month to hear anything (called 4 times checking and requested a supervisor call me….which they never did). Finally a month and a half later I was told the responses were sent.

I received the check yesterday. All I could do is laugh. The $680 dollar claim was denied saying her EPI condition was a preexisting condition (per the diarrhea claim that was not covered). Keep in mind this was a shelter dog. AS for the 370 dollar claim, they covered 102 of it. That was enough for me. Between the customer service and the BS for coverage, your better off taking the 40 dollars a month and putting it into a account for vet bills (coming from my sister who s a Vet in PA).

Total claimed while having their insurance: $1,260.00
Total cost of the insurance: $ 120.00
Total covered by insurance: $ 102.00




Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Lee
26 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Combined Locks WI

Date Submitted: April 7, 2010
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 10 out of 10
Claims: 10 out of 10
Customer Service: 10 out of 10
Cost: 10 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Thank goodness
I'm so grateful that we received a "gift of insurance" policy when we adopted a puppy from the local humane society. Unfortunately, she got very sick very quickly - she was diagnosed with parvo and we tried everything we could but had to put her down after just a week.

Sheltercare was excellent. The customer service was responsive and kind. I wish that I had upgraded my policy before she got sick - and I will always do that in the future. But they made good on the policy and quickly paid the maximum ($750) for the gift policy when we submitted our receipts and medical records.

I am glad that I bought policies on my 2 older pets. Now that I know how much I would want to continue treatment, I am glad that money will not have to be the determining factor.
Comments [ 8 ]
Submitted by: Amanda
31 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Decatur, GA

Date Submitted: March 12, 2010
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: DO NOT BUY!!!!! SCAM
Do not buy this insurance! I have been fighting with this company to be reimbursed for an emergency visit for the past 3 MONTHS. Everytime I call I wait on hold for at least 10 mins.

First they rejected my claim because the symptoms started prior to my insurance claim.

After I proved that the insurance policy started prior to the symptoms, they rejected me because they don't think my dog's Diarrhea/Lethergy was caused by one of their "10 named perils". Intestinal Parasites is one of their perils, and my dog tested positive for parasites.... however, I guess that doesn't count.

I firmly beleive they never intend to ever pay any claims.

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Lincoln's Dad
32 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Chicago

Date Submitted: November 25, 2009
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Worst... Customer service.... ever!!!!
I've had their insurance for 2 years and got the renewal for a 3rd year stating that the premium was going up 75%. I called and canceled it. Two weeks later, I found that they had charged my expired credit card for the 3rd year. My wife called them back and the customer "service" rep yelled at her about how we were going to kill our dog if we didn't keep the insurance and that she should get a new policy for herself and keep it a secret from me.

Do not get this insurance unless you want a lot of headaches.

Comments [ 5 ]
Submitted by: churoval
39 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Phoenix

Date Submitted: July 27, 2009
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: The Worst Customer Service Experience of my Life
I have spent over 6 hours of my life (mostly on hold) dealing with representatives who are only skilled at lying and pushing my buttons. My puppy became sick 1 week after I adopted him and, despite being insured through ShelterCare, I was left footing over $1200 in vet bills. He was hospitalized on 6/12 and taken back to emergency on 6/14. ShelterCare, according to their terms, should have covered roundworms (the diagnosis), but instead found every way possible to delay/deny processing our claims. Aside from the time spent on hold, ShelterCare also sent me on several 45 minute round trips to the vet to get more paperwork. I was told by "supervisors" both verbally and in writing that out claims would be expedited within 24 hours. Expedite= 1 month of run-a-round. The only prompt derpartment with ShelterCare is the sales department. I have since cancelled my policy and will never purchase anything from them again.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: k_ro
26 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   IL

Date Submitted: March 26, 2009
Pet Insurer: ShelterCare Pet Insurance
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Lousy Customer Service, Even Worse Coverage!!
I adopted a 10-wk-old kitten from the Humane Society of Baltimore County in early Feb.'09. She came with a clean bill of health & a free 30-day insurance policy from ShelterCare. Their website listed a $75 deductible & a $750 max. payout but listed no exclusions. My kitten had severe ear mites despite having been treated by the HSBC vet, so I took her to my own vet. The bill came to $183. (My vet spent 30 min. flusing her ears to remove mites & wax - yuk!) I paid out of pocket & mailed my claim to Sheltercare, which they received 2/25. As of today (3/26/09) I still don't have my refund check, which should have been $108. After more than 5 phone calls over the last 3 weeks (no one in their Claims dept. picks up the phone!) the rep I finally spoke to today said they'd mailed me a check for a lousy $48 (from Canada, mind you) on 3/23! She said the Distemper shot, ear flush, ear mite meds, fecal sample, parasite testing & deworming my vet did were 'not covered'. So this insurance is as useless as tits on a bull! I am buying a real policy from PetsBest.com instead: 80% coverage after $75 deductible & the (very few) exclusions are spelled out at the site BEFORE you buy. They even cover specialists & after-hours emergency care.
See for yourself:
http://www.petsbest.com/plans/illnessaccidentplans.aspx
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: RC
38 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Baltimore, MD